WilmerHale Lawyers Named Among the 2021 Best Lawyers in America®, Eight Selected as Lawyers of the Year

WilmerHale Lawyers Named Among the 2021 Best Lawyers in America®, Eight Selected as Lawyers of the Year


Best Lawyers in America® has named eight WilmerHale partners as 2021 Lawyers of the Year, with the peer-review publication recognizing 129 lawyers from the firm overall.

The Lawyer of the Year recognition names only one lawyer for each legal practice specialty and location. This year’s edition has selected the following WilmerHale partners:

  • Craig Goldblatt, Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Washington DC
  • David Westenberg, Information Technology Law, Boston
  • Jamie Gorelick, Administrative/Regulatory Law, Washington DC
  • Joseph Mueller, Litigation – Intellectual Property, Boston
  • Monica Grewal, Patent Law, Boston
  • Seth Waxman, First Amendment Law, Washington DC
  • Sonal Mehta, Patent Law, San Jose
  • William Paine, Securities Regulation, Boston

Additionally, Best Lawyers in America® compiles its lists of outstanding lawyers by conducting confidential peer-review surveys in which thousands of leading lawyers evaluate their peers. The following WilmerHale lawyers were included in the 2021 edition:

Mick Bain
Steven Barrett
David Bassett
John Batter
Michael Bevilacqua
Mark Borden
Jay Bothwick
Douglas Burton
John Butts
William Caporizzo
Robert Cultice
Lia Der Marderosian
Peter Dichiara
Stuart Falber
Robert Fitzpatrick
Lauren Fletcher
Mark Ford
Steven Giordano
David Gold
Monica Grewal
Daniel Halston
Bonnie Heiple
Paul Jakubowski
Stephen Jonas
Robert Keefe
Robert Kirsch
Bill Lee
Hal Leibowitz
Dominic Massa
Mark Matuschak
Cynthia Mazareas
Joseph Mueller
Amy Null
William Paine
Timothy Perla
Lisa Pirozzolo
Rosemary Reilly
Roger Ritt
Andrea Robinson
Julie Hogan Rodgers
Gretchen Passe Roin
Jonathan Rosenfeld
Matthew Schnall
Laura Schneider
Emily Schulman
Amy Segal
George Shuster
Donald Steinberg
Michael Summersgill
Louis Tompros
Cynthia Vreeland
David Westenberg
Kimberly Wethly
Jonathan Wolfman

Benjamin Fernandez
Michael Hazel
Chalyse Robinson
Kenneth Salazar
Mindy Sooter
Keith Trammell

New York
Richard Andersen
Philip Anker
Michael Bongiorno
James Carter
Amy Doberman
Robert Finkel
Andrew Goldman
Jay Holtmeier
Fraser Hunter
Brian Johnson
Lori Martin
Brendan McGuire
Bruce Newman
John Pierce
Anjan Sahni
Steven Singer
Roger Witten

Palo Alto
Mark Flanagan
Sonal Mehta
Mark Selwyn

San Francisco
Peggy Otum

Washington DC
Paul Architzel
Christopher Babbitt
Charlene Barshefsky
Reginald Brown
Patrick Carome
Catherine Carroll
David Cavanaugh
Jonathan Cedarbaum
Louis Cohen
Michael Connor
Meredith Cross
Christopher Davies
Michael Esch
Craig Goldblatt
Jamie Gorelick
Leon Greenfield
Brent Gurney
Franca Harris Gutierrez
Rachel Jacobson
Rachael Kent
Scott Kilgore
Robert Kimmitt
Perry Lange
Brenda Lee
Yoon-Young Lee
Michael Leotta
Ronald Machen
Bruce Manheim
Matthew Martens
Alejandro Mayorkas
William McLucas
Ronald Meltzer
Thomas Mueller
Kirk Nahra
Robert Novick
David Ogden
Kimberly Parker
Benjamin Powell
David Ross
Howard Shapiro
Danielle Spinelli
Thomas Strickland
Raya Treiser
Naboth van den Broek
Daniel Volchok
Seth Waxman
Harry Weiss
Paul Wolfson


Unless you are an existing client, before communicating with WilmerHale by e-mail (or otherwise), please read the Disclaimer referenced by this link.(The Disclaimer is also accessible from the opening of this website). As noted therein, until you have received from us a written statement that we represent you in a particular manner (an "engagement letter") you should not send to us any confidential information about any such matter. After we have undertaken representation of you concerning a matter, you will be our client, and we may thereafter exchange confidential information freely.

Thank you for your interest in WilmerHale.