WilmerHale Lawyers Named Among the 2020 Best Lawyers in America®, Eleven Recognized as Lawyers of the Year

WilmerHale Lawyers Named Among the 2020 Best Lawyers in America®, Eleven Recognized as Lawyers of the Year


Eleven WilmerHale partners were named 2020 Lawyers of the Year by Best Lawyers in America®, with the peer-review publication recognizing 124 lawyers from the firm overall.

Only one lawyer in a legal practice specialty and location is recognized as Lawyer of the Year. The following WilmerHale partners from four different offices were selected after receiving high ratings from their peers:

  • Philip Anker, Litigation – Bankruptcy, New York
  • Charlene Barshefsky, International Trade and Finance Law,Washington DC
  • Michael Bevilacqua, Copyright Law, Boston
  • James Carter, Arbitration, New York
  • Craig Goldblatt, Litigation – Bankruptcy, Washington DC
  • Lori Martin, Mutual Funds Law, New York
  • Lisa Pirozzolo, Litigation – Patent, Boston
  • Kenneth Salazar, Environmental Law, Denver
  • Steven Singer, Biotechnology and Life Sciences Practice, New York
  • Seth Waxman, Litigation  First Amendment, Washington DC
  • David Westenberg, Technology Law, Boston

Best Lawyers in America® compiles its lists of outstanding lawyers by conducting peer-review surveys in which tens of thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their peers. The complete list of WilmerHale lawyers included in the 2020 edition is below.


Mick Bain

Keith Barnett

Steven Barrett

David Bassett

John Batter

Michael Bevilacqua

Mark Borden

Jay Bothwick

Sean Boulger

Robert Burke

Douglas Burton

John Butts

William Caporizzo

Robert Cultice

Lia Der Marderosian

Peter Dichiara

Stephen Edwards

Stuart Falber

Robert Fitzpatrick

Mark Ford

Monica Grewal

Daniel Halston

Bonnie Heiple

Paul Jakubowski

Stephen Jonas

Belinda Juran

Robert Keefe

Robert Kirsch

William Lee

Hal Leibowitz

Dominic Massa

Mark Matuschak

Cynthia Mazareas

Joseph Mueller

Amy Null

William Paine

Lisa Pirozzolo

Rosemary Reilly

Roger Ritt

Andrea Robinson

Julie Rodgers

Gretchen Roin

Matthew Schnall

Laura Schneider

Emily Schulman

Amy Segal

George Shuster

John Sigel

Donald Steinberg

Michael Summersgill

Louis Tompros

Cynthia Vreeland

David Westenberg

Kimberly Wethly

Jonathan Wolfman


Benjamin Fernandez

Michael Hazel

Kenneth Salazar

Mary Sooter

Keith Trammell


New York

Richard Andersen

Philip Anker

Michael Bongiorno

James Carter

Amy Doberman

Robert Finkel

Jay Holtmeier

Fraser Hunter

Brian Johnson

Sharon Cohen Levin

Lori Martin

Bruce Newman

John V.H. Pierce

Charles Platt

Steven Singer

Roger Witten


Palo Alto

Peter Buckland

Mark Flanagan

Mark Selwyn

Washington DC

Paul Architzel

Christopher Babbitt

Charlene Barshefsky

Reginald Brown

Patrick Carome

Catherine Carroll

Jonathan Cedarbaum

Louis Cohen

Michael Connor

Meredith Cross

Christopher Davies

Reed Freeman

Craig Goldblatt

Jamie Gorelick

Leon Greenfield

Brent Gurney

Franca Harris Gutierrez

Rachel Jacobson

Rachael Kent

Scott Kilgore

Robert Kimmitt

Brenda Lee

Yoon-Young Lee

Bruce Manheim

Matthew Martens

Alejandro Mayorkas

William McLucas

Ronald Meltzer

Thomas Mueller

Kirk Nahra

Robert Novick

David Ogden 

Kimberly Parker

Benjamin Powell

David Ross

Howard Shapiro

Danielle Spinelli

Thomas Strickland

Raya Treiser

Naboth van den Broek

Daniel Volchok

Seth Waxman

Harry Weiss

Paul Wolfson




Unless you are an existing client, before communicating with WilmerHale by e-mail (or otherwise), please read the Disclaimer referenced by this link.(The Disclaimer is also accessible from the opening of this website). As noted therein, until you have received from us a written statement that we represent you in a particular manner (an "engagement letter") you should not send to us any confidential information about any such matter. After we have undertaken representation of you concerning a matter, you will be our client, and we may thereafter exchange confidential information freely.

Thank you for your interest in WilmerHale.