FinTech INDUSTRIES

The WilmerHale FinTech Group is a multi-disciplinary team of lawyers that leverages the expertise of our Corporate, Financial Institutions, Technology and Intellectual Property practices and others to offer integrated, full service legal solutions to clients within the FinTech sector and to a whole host of other clients who do business or invest in the FinTech sector. The group is uniquely positioned to represent FinTech clients throughout their lifecycles and to advise on a vast range of transactions and other legal matters.

We offer FinTech services to:

  • Mature and emerging FinTech companies
  • Companies engaged in FinTech transactions and/or making investments in FinTech-enabled services
  • Exchanges and online platforms
  • Investment banks
  • Venture capital, private equity, and hedge fund firms

We advise our clients on a wide range of FinTech-related matters and issues, including:

  • General corporate matters
  • M&A and joint venture transactions
  • FinTech-enabled services, including mobile applications and outsourcing
  • Capital markets and other financings, including venture capital investments
  • Regulatory and compliance matters
  • Data security and privacy
  • Vendor management
  • Intellectual property and patent litigation

To learn more about WilmerHale’s FinTech practice, email us at .

The WilmerHale FinTech Group is a multi-disciplinary team of lawyers that leverages the expertise of our Corporate, Financial Institutions, Technology and Intellectual Property practices and others to offer integrated, full service legal solutions to clients within the FinTech sector and to a whole host of other clients who do business or invest in the FinTech sector. The group is uniquely positioned to represent FinTech clients throughout their lifecycles and to advise on a vast range of transactions and other legal matters.

We offer FinTech services to:

Read More

Corporate Contacts

Capital Markets

Lisa Firenze
+1 212 937 7263 (t)
lisa.firenze@wilmerhale.com

 

Justin Ochs
+1 202 663 6303 (t)
justin.ochs@wilmerhale.com

 

Erika Robinson
+1 202 663 6402 (t)
erika.robinson@wilmerhale.com

 

Knute Salhus
+1 212 230 8805 (t)
knute.salhus@wilmerhale.com

 

Emerging Company

Stephanie Evans
+1 202 663 6355 (t)
stephanie.evans@wilmerhale.com

 

Glenn Luinenburg
+1 650 858 6075 (t)
glenn.luinenburg@wilmerhale.com

 

Mergers and Acquisitions

Robert Finkel
+1 212 295 6555 (t)
robert.finkel@wilmerhale.com

 

Stephanie Evans
+1 202 663 6355 (t)
stephanie.evans@wilmerhale.com

 

Outsourcing and Licensing

Robert Finkel
+1 212 295 6555 (t)
robert.finkel@wilmerhale.com

 

Jeff Johnson
+1 617 526 6394 (t)
jeffrey.johnson@wilmerhale.com

 

Securities Law Compliance

Knute Salhus
+1 212 230 8805 (t)
knute.salhus@wilmerhale.com

Financial Institutions Contacts

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Russell J. Bruemmer
+1 202 663 6804 (t)
russell.bruemmer@wilmerhale.com

 

Franca Harris Gutierrez
+1 202 663 6557 (t)
franca.gutierrez@wilmerhale.com

 

Eric J. Mogilnicki
+1 202 663 6410 (t)
eric.mogilnicki@wilmerhale.com

 

Data Protection and Information Security

Jonathan Cedarbaum
+1 202 663 6315 (t)
jonathan.cedarbaum@wilmerhale.com

 

Barry Hurewitz
+1 202 663 6089 (t)
barry.hurewitz@wilmerhale.com

 

Heather Zachary
+1 202 663 6794 (t)
heather.zachary@wilmerhale.com

 

Export Controls and Economic Sanctions

Barry Hurewitz
+1 202 663 6089 (t)
barry.hurewitz@wilmerhale.com

 

Payment Transactions

Russell J. Bruemmer
+1 202 663 6804 (t)
russell.bruemmer@wilmerhale.com

 

Noah Levine
+1 212 230 8800 (t)
noah.levine@wilmerhale.com

 

Intellectual Property Contacts

Labor and Employment Contacts

Employee Benefits and Immigration

Laura Schneider
+1 617 526 6846 (t)
laura.schneider@wilmerhale.com

 

Securities Contacts

Broker-Dealer Compliance and Regulation

Paul Architzel
+1 202 663 6240 (t)
paul.architzel@wilmerhale.com

 

Elizabeth Derbes
+1 212 295 6430 (t)
elizabeth.derbes@wilmerhale.com

 

Bruce Newman
+1 212 230 8835 (t)
bruce.newman@wilmerhale.com

 

Andre Owens
+1 202 663 6350 (t)
andre.owens@wilmerhale.com

 

Investment Management

Matt Chambers
+1 202 663 6591 (t)
matthew.chambers@wilmerhale.com

 

Dino Wu
+1 212 295 6436 (t)
dino.wu@wilmerhale.com

 

Tax Contacts

Corporate and Partnership Taxation

Bill Caporizzo
+1 617 526 6411 (t)
william.caporizzo@wilmerhale.com

 

Executive Compensation

Kim Wethly
+1 617 526 6481 (t)
kim.wethly@wilmerhale.com

 

Publications & News

View

April 13, 2015

Report Highlights Bank Vendor Cybersecurity Vulnerabilities

On April 9, the New York State Department of Financial Services released a report on bank vendor cybersecurity that highlights the risk that hackers will use third-party service providers to gain access to bank data.

March 27, 2015

2015 Corporate Reports

WilmerHale's annual IPO, Venture Capital and M&A Reports offer insights into market conditions and provide comprehensive statistics and analysis that are hard to find elsewhere.

November 21, 2014

CFPB Calls for Changes to Mortgage Servicing with Proposed Rule

On November 20, 2014, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau proposed changes to the rules governing mortgage servicing and foreclosures—Regulation X, which implements the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, and Regulation Z, the implementing regulation for the Truth in Lending Act.

November 17, 2014

CFPB Releases Long-Awaited Proposal on Prepaid Account Products

On November 13, 2014, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (“CFPB”) issued a proposed rule to extend certain federal consumer protections to the prepaid market.

October 9, 2014

SEC Enforcement Actions Emphasize Importance of Stock Ownership Reporting Obligations for Public Companies and Insiders

On September 10, 2014, the Securities and Exchange Commission announced charges against 28 officers, directors and major stockholders of public companies for violating Section 16(a) and/or Section 13(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended.

September 17, 2014

IP Strategies in a Competitive FinTech Marketplace

An article by Wayne Kennard published in the FinTech Law Report, Volume 17, July/August 2014, Issue 4.

July 25, 2014

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau as a Privacy & Data Security Regulator

An article by Jonathan Cedarbaum and Elijah Alper, published in the May/June 2014 edition of the Fintech Law Report.

May 6, 2014

2014 Corporate Reports

WilmerHale’s annual IPO, Venture Capital and M&A Reports provide comprehensive statistics and analysis that are hard to find elsewhere.

December 6, 2013

House Passes Patent Litigation Bill

On December 5, 2013, the House of Representatives passed the Innovation Act (H.R. 3309) (the “Act”) by a vote of 325-91. The Act proposes several changes to the patent litigation system such as enhanced pleading requirements, fee shifting, discovery limits, patent ownership disclosures, and stays of customer suits.

November 20, 2013

On the Road to Legitimacy? Regulators Appear Ready to “Maximize the Good” of Virtual Currency

Supporters of Bitcoin and other virtual currencies will be heartened by the generally positive discussions that took place at two Senate committee hearings earlier this week, in which both regulators and senators signaled that forthcoming regulation should not aim to stifle this emerging technology.