Public Incentives and Tax Increment Financing TRANSACTIONAL
Obtaining financial incentives from state and local governments, including real estate tax relief, is often the key to a successful development project or to the relocation, expansion or retention of major institutions and businesses. Our Real Estate Practice has vast experience negotiating incentive packages, including tax increment financing, for a wide range of developers, institutions and business owners.
Barnett, Keith R.

Keith R. Barnett

Partner

+1 617 526 6930 (t)

keith.barnett@wilmerhale.com

Boulger, Sean T.

Sean T. Boulger

Partner

+1 617 526 6870 (t)

sean.boulger@wilmerhale.com

Burke, Robert D.

Robert D. Burke

Partner

+1 617 526 6470 (t)

robert.burke@wilmerhale.com

Burton, Douglas L.

Douglas L. Burton

Partner

+1 617 526 6270 (t)

douglas.burton@wilmerhale.com

Jakubowski, Paul

Paul Jakubowski

Partner

+1 617 526 6948 (t)

paul.jakubowski@wilmerhale.com

Edwards, Stephen M.

Stephen M. Edwards

Special Counsel

+1 617 526 6067 (t)

stephen.edwards@wilmerhale.com

Gold, H. David

H. David Gold

Special Counsel

+1 617 526 6425 (t)

david.gold@wilmerhale.com

Kincaid_Susan.jpg

Susan M. Kincaid

Special Counsel

+1 617 526 6577 (t)

susan.kincaid@wilmerhale.com

Experience

Representative matters include:

  • Representing a developer in obtaining a complex tax increment financing deal involving a 20-year tax reduction worth $38 million for a suburban Boston mixed-use project.
  • Advising a hotel developer to obtain $18 million in federal and state historic tax credits for the conversion of Boston's historic Charles Street Jail into a luxury hotel.
  • Representing a publicly traded retail company to obtain cash incentives and infrastructure improvements for the development of regional distribution centers in Pennsylvania.
  • Representing a publicly traded office supply company to obtain tax increment financing for distribution centers in Indiana and Ohio.
  • Representing numerous new construction office users in tax increment financing agreements with various Massachusetts towns, calling for the creation of new jobs, facilitation of new construction, and reduction of real estate taxes over an extended period of time.
  • Representing a Rhode Island university in the negotiation of a 10-year, $31 million payment in lieu of taxes agreement with the city of Providence involving the acquisition of parking rights and municipal land and the abandonment of municipal efforts threatening the university's tax-exempt status.

Events

May 18, 2017

Managing The Capital Stack: Debt Financing

Boston, Massachusetts