Nonprofit Institutions TRANSACTIONAL
Our real estate lawyers have extensive experience in representing colleges, universities and other nonprofit institutions. We are skilled in the acquisition, disposition development, land use, permitting and financing of all types of real estate projects.
Barnett, Keith R.

Keith R. Barnett

Partner

+1 617 526 6930 (t)

keith.barnett@wilmerhale.com

Boulger, Sean T.

Sean T. Boulger

Partner

+1 617 526 6870 (t)

sean.boulger@wilmerhale.com

Burke, Robert D.

Robert D. Burke

Partner

+1 617 526 6470 (t)

robert.burke@wilmerhale.com

Burton, Douglas L.

Douglas L. Burton

Partner

+1 617 526 6270 (t)

douglas.burton@wilmerhale.com

Jakubowski, Paul

Paul Jakubowski

Partner

+1 617 526 6948 (t)

paul.jakubowski@wilmerhale.com

Edwards, Stephen M.

Stephen M. Edwards

Special Counsel

+1 617 526 6067 (t)

stephen.edwards@wilmerhale.com

Gold, H. David

H. David Gold

Special Counsel

+1 617 526 6425 (t)

david.gold@wilmerhale.com

Kincaid_Susan.jpg

Susan M. Kincaid

Special Counsel

+1 617 526 6577 (t)

susan.kincaid@wilmerhale.com

Experience

A sampling of our recent transactions includes:

  • Representing a Rhode Island university in the negotiation of a 10-year, $31 million payment in lieu of taxes agreement with the city of Providence involving the acquisition of parking rights and municipal land and the abandonment of municipal efforts threatening the university's tax-exempt status.
  • Assisting one of Boston's largest universities in the expansion of its science and technology campus involving several phases of development totaling 1,500,000 square feet of space on a 10 acre parcel, including a dormitory, arena and recreation center. We also represented the university in zoning and permitting for a second dormitory and the development of an administrative building, research center, life sciences and engineering building, and field house, and in its joint development with a national developer to create graduate student housing.
  • Acquiring a site for another of Boston's largest universities, and obtaining all zoning approvals required for a mixed-use phased project to contain five buildings and more than one million square feet of floor area on a five-acre site, including an office, hotel, retail space and parking garage.
  • For another major research university, negotiating agreements with an adjacent landowner to settle longstanding disputes regarding easements and related property rights. Our representation of this university has also included preparation of construction and architect's contracts.
  • Representing a major national university in connection with the restructuring and negotiation of financing, leasing and management of a hospitality facility, including hotel, restaurants, parking, golf facilities and other amenities owned by the university.
  • Representing a private equity firm in a collaborative project with a research institution for the development of a world-renowned teaching and research biotech facility in the mid-Atlantic region.
  • Representing a religious organization in complex sale, acquisition and related real estate initiatives.