Environmental Dispute Resolution and Small States

September 6-7, 2018 | London, UK


  • WilmerHale
    49 Park Lane
    London, W1K 1PS, UK


WilmerHale and the Centre for Small States are delighted to invite you to a two-day conference in London on environmental dispute resolution and small states.

The aim of this two-day conference is to bring together representatives of Small States, government officials, academics and NGOs, as well as lawyers who are involved in dispute resolution in or for Small States (defined as those states with a population of 1.5 million or less). Conference participants will explore how (international) environmental dispute resolution can be used to combat climate change or environmental degradation and will discuss how Small States can obtain reparation for suffered environmental and/or climate change damage.

Many Small States are small island states. Climate change presents unique challenges to those states in particular. The difficulties that all countries face in effectively coping with the impact of climate change or environmental issues are exacerbated in Small (island) States because of their geographical area, isolation and exposure.

Thursday, 6 September 2018 | 09:00–17:00 BST
Friday, 7 September 2018 | 09:30–17:30 BST

Keynote speakers:
Lord Carnwath, Justice of The Supreme Court, United Kingdom
Graham Dunning QC, Barrister, Essex Court Chambers, London 

Keynote panel:
Catherine Evans, Deputy Solicitor-General, Crown Law Office, Cook Islands
Ambassador Eden Charles, Trinidad & Tobago 
Malik Dahlan, Professor, Institution Quraysh for Law & Policy (iQ) and Queen Mary University of London
Elisabeth Mrema, Director, United Nations Environment Programme

Confirmed Speakers & Chairs:
Julian Agoun, Principal, Blue Ocean Law, Guam
Matthieu Bardout, formerly Circle Economy, Amsterdam
Steven Finizio, Partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, London
Dr Johanne Fischer,  Executive Secretary, South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation
Catherine Iorns, Professor, Victoria University of Wellington
Dr Ilan Kelman, Professor, University College London
Dr Radika Kumar, Lecturer, University of the South Pacific
Daniel Leader, Partner, Leigh Day, London
Penehuro Lefale, Director at LeA International, Wellington, Nobel Prize 2007
Annette Magnusson, Secretary General, Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce
José Rafael Mata Dona, Arbitrator in independent practice, Brussels
Simon Milnes, Barrister, 20 Essex Street, London
Ana Stanic, Director and Founder, E&A Law Ltd, London
Suzanne Spears, Partner, Volterra Fietta, London 
Monica Feria Tinta, Barrister,  20 Essex Street, London
Ana Tuketei, Visiting Foreign Lawyer, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, London
Dr Stefaan Voet, Professor, KU Leuven
Dr Troy Waterman, Lecturer, University of West Indies (Cave Hill)
Sir David Baragwanath, KNZM QC
Michael Burger, Executive Director, Sabin Center for Climate Change Law, Columbia University
David Freestone, Professorial Lecturer in Law, George Washington University
Denise Antolini, Professor, University of Hawai'i