Eighty-Six Lawyers Named to The Best Lawyers in America

Eighty-Six Lawyers Named to The Best Lawyers in America


Eighty-six WilmerHale lawyers were honored in The Best Lawyers in America 2006 for outstanding reputations and distinguished work in their practice areas.

The Best Lawyers in America is celebrating over twenty years of research and publication of the most respected attorneys in their fields, which has been hailed as one of the most valued referral sources for lawyers. Lawyers were included in the list by nomination and voting of their peers. Over 1.5 million evaluations and votes shaped the final directory. To learn more about the publication, accolades it has received, and the methodology behind its research, please click here.

The following are the WilmerHale lawyers recognized in the 2006 edition of The Best Lawyers in America, listed by city and alongside the respective practice areas for which they were nominated:

Baltimore—Mark Pollak (Real Estate Law); Stephen H. Sachs (Alternative Dispute Resolution, Commercial Litigation, White-Collar Criminal Defense); John B. Watkins (Corporate Law, Mergers & Acquisitions Law, Securities Law)

Boston—Katharine E. Bachman (Real Estate Law); William C. Benjamin (International Trade and Finance Law); Mark G. Borden (Corporate Governance and Compliance Law, Corporate Law, Mergers & Acquisitions Law, Securities Law); Paul P. Brountas (Corporate Law, Technology Law); John A. Burgess (International Trade and Finance Law, Mergers & Acquisitions Law, Securities Law); James R. Burke (Corporate Law); James C. Burling (Antitrust Law); Andrew H. Cohn (Real Estate Law); Paul P. Daley (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law); Michael L. Fay (Trusts and Estates); A. Silvana Giner (Trusts and Estates); Richard W. Giuliani (Tax Law); Christopher P. Harvey (Mutual Funds Law); Neil Jacobs (Labor and Employment Law); Richard A. Johnston (International Arbitration); Virginia Kingsley Kapner (Corporate Law); Robert C. Kirsch (Environmental Law); James B. Lampert (Intellectual Property Law); William F. Lee (Appellate Law, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Intellectual Property Law); Vincent P. McCarthy (Real Estate Law); Michelle D. Miller (Antitrust Law); William O'Reilly (Real Estate Law); Mark N. Polebaum (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law); David E. Redlick (Biotechnology Law, Corporate Law); Roger M. Ritt (Tax Law); Patrick E. Rondeau (Corporate Law, Mergers & Acquisitions Law, Securities Law); Sarah Rothermel (Private Funds Law); Jeffrey B. Rudman (Commercial Litigation, Securities Law); John D. Sigel (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law); Steven D. Singer (Biotechnology Law, Corporate Law); Joel Sirkin (Real Estate Law); Jennifer C. Snyder (Trusts and Estates); Philip D. Stevenson (Real Estate Law); C. Hall Swaim (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law); Robert Tuchmann (Real Estate Law); Gary A. Walpert (Intellectual Property Law); Jonathan Wolfman (Corporate Governance and Compliance Law)

New York — Philip Anker (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law); Paul Engelmayer (White-Collar Criminal Defense); Robert B. McCaw (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Corporate Governance and Compliance Law); Charles C. Platt (Insurance Law); Peter Vigeland (Commercial Litigation, White-Collar Criminal Defense)

Tysons Corner, VA —Duane D. Morse (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law)

Washington, DC — Gregory Baer (Banking Law); Charlene Barshefsky (Government Relations Law, International Trade and Finance Law); Brandon Becker (Securities Law); Robert B. Bell (Antitrust Law); Russell J. Bruemmer (Banking Law); Robert Cassidy (International Trade and Finance Law); Louis R. Cohen (Appellate Law, Commercial Litigation, Mergers & Acquisitions Law); Meredith Cross (Securities Law); Edward C. Dumont (Appellate Law); Jamie Gorelick (Commercial Litigation); John D. Greenwald (International Trade and Finance Law); Gary N. Horlick (International Trade and Finance Law); Stephen Hut, Jr. (Commercial Litigation); Terrill A. Hyde (Tax Law); Michael R. Klein (Corporate Governance and Compliance Law, Securities Law); William J. Kolasky (Antitrust Law); F. David Lake, Jr. (Tax Law); William T. Lake (Communications Law); Charles Levy (Government Relations Law; International Trade and Finance Law); Martin E. Lybecker (Banking Law, Mutual Funds Law); William McLucas (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Corporate Governance and Compliance Law, Securities Law); David Medine (Banking Law); A. Douglas Melamed (Antitrust Law); Robert Novick (International Trade and Finance Law); David Ogden (Commercial Litigation, Mass Tort Litigation); John Payton (Commercial Litigation); William J. Perlstein (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law); Howard M. Shapiro (Commercial Litigation, White-Collar Criminal Defense); Marianne K. Smythe (Mutual Funds Law); Robert B. Stack (Tax Law); David Sylvester (Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity Law, Securities Law); Seth P. Waxman (Appellate Law, Bet-the-Company Litigation, First Amendment Law); Harry Weiss (Corporate Governance and Compliance Law, Securities Law); Laura S. Wertheimer (Commercial Litigation); William J. Wilkins (Tax Law); Roger Witten (Commercial Litigation, White-Collar Criminal Defense); Paul R. Q. Wolfson (Appellate Law); Soo Yim (Securities Law)