Business Transactions REGULATORY AND GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS

With the support of our respected transactional practice, WilmerHale's bank regulatory team advises financial institutions on the full range of corporate transactions.


We regularly counsel clients on issues under the banking and consumer finance laws in connection with mergers, acquisitions, restructuring, outsourcing and capital markets transactions involving banks, bank holding companies, consumer finance companies and other financial institutions. In addition to our experience in mergers, acquisitions and other strategic transactions, we have particularly extensive knowledge of outsourcing arrangements, investments in consumer finance and FinTech companies, and co-branded card arrangements.

Gutierrez, Franca Harris

Franca Harris Gutierrez

Vice Chair, Financial Institutions Practice Group

+1 202 663 6557 (t)

franca.gutierrez@wilmerhale.com

Adegbile, Debo

Debo P. Adegbile

Partner

+1 212 295 6717 (t)

debo.adegbile@wilmerhale.com

Berkovitz, Dan

Dan M. Berkovitz

Partner

+1 202 663 6352 (t)

dan.berkovitz@wilmerhale.com

Brown, Reginald J.

Reginald J. Brown

Partner

+1 202 663 6430 (t)

reginald.brown@wilmerhale.com

Cohen, David

David S. Cohen

Partner

+1 202 663 6205 (t)

david.cohen@wilmerhale.com

Donovan, David

David Donovan

Partner

+1 202 663 6868 (t)

david.donovan@wilmerhale.com

No Image

Gail Ennis

Partner

+1 202 663 6014 (t)

gail.ennis@wilmerhale.com

Goldblatt, Craig

Craig Goldblatt

Partner

+1 202 663 6483 (t)

craig.goldblatt@wilmerhale.com

Experience

Recent corporate transactions include:

  • services agreements between banks and various mobile wallet providers;
  • renegotiation of a business process outsourcing agreement between a major international financial institution and its service provider;
  • wind down of US operations of a large international bank;
  • negotiation of a business process outsourcing agreement between a major regional bank and its service provider;
  • renegotiation of an IT services agreement between a major regional bank and its service provider;
  • negotiation of a credit card processing agreement between an international hospitality chain and its processor;
  • negotiation of a co-branded credit card agreement between an international hospitality chain and its banking partner;
  • advising a bank on a data center outsourcing transaction; 
  • regulatory due diligence reviews for investments in several marketplace lending platforms;
  • assessment of the regulatory risks of an investment in an online alternative small business lender;
  • an investment by a major bank in a blockchain company; and
  • purchases and sales by major card issuers of card portfolios and the negotiation of program agreements.