Policy and Legislation AVIATION

The Aviation Practice has broad experience representing clients in the policymaking and legislative processes in the United States, Europe, Latin America and Asia. We routinely advise clients before the executive and legislative branches of government. Some examples of activity in this area include:

  • Congressional relations. We advocate before members of Congress and their staffs on behalf of a number of US and foreign firms. Projects range from opposing potential legislation limiting US market access, to gaining support for specific transactions, to counseling clients asked to testify before Congressional committees.
  • Intergovernmental negotiations. We have advised airlines with respect to the negotiation of air service agreements and resolution of intergovernmental disputes. We have advised airlines and trade associations on the EU-US negotiations to liberalize the transatlantic aviation market.
  • Amendment of regulations. We advised major US and European airlines on the implications of the European Commission proposal for amending the EU slot regulation, particularly with regard to the ability of airlines to trade airport landing and take-off slots.
  • Trade association policy. We advised a major European airline association concerning the implications of the European Court of Justice's "Open Skies" judgments and prepared a report and paper outlining the association's position on key competition law aspects of the proposed EU-US Transatlantic Open Aviation Area.
Crones, Christian

Dr. Christian Crones

Partner

+49 69 27 10 78 207 (t)

christian.crones@wilmerhale.com

Mueller, Thomas

Thomas Mueller

Partner

+1 202 663 6766 (t)

thomas.mueller@wilmerhale.com

Novick, Robert T.

Robert T. Novick

Partner

+1 202 663 6140 (t)

robert.novick@wilmerhale.com

Ross, David J.

David J. Ross

Partner

+1 202 663 6515 (t)

david.ross@wilmerhale.com

Wissmann, Matthias

Matthias Wissmann

Senior International Counsel

+49 30 20 22 64 26 (t)

matthias.wissmann@wilmerhale.com

Meltzer, Ronald I.

Ronald I. Meltzer

Senior Counsel

+1 202 663 6389 (t)

ronald.meltzer@wilmerhale.com