

WilmerHale Announces 2010 Promotions

DECEMBER 9, 2009

WilmerHale is pleased to announce the firm's 2010 elevations, which will become effective on January 1, 2010. A full list of elevated partners and special counsel can be found at the end of this press release.

"We are thrilled to have such a talented group of lawyers elevated in 2010," said William J. Perlstein. "They have distinguished themselves through their excellent work and exceptional client service and they will be great contributors to our Firm for years to come."

As a part of its 2010 elevations, the firm will promote more women than men attorneys (91 vs. 86) to positions ranging from partner to senior associate. Five of nine new partners are women, as are 11 of 14 new special counsel, 19 of 54 new counsel, and 56 of 100 new senior associates. In addition, the firm continues to lead the way in promoting diverse attorneys.

"Among our best and brightest lawyers are women and minorities," said William F. Lee, comanaging partner of WilmerHale. "In addition to providing sound counsel to our clients in a wide range of practice areas, they are leaders in the legal profession, active community members, and devoted mentors to junior attorneys. Competitive success for a global law firm in the twenty-first century requires a commitment to diversity that starts at the top and courses through the firm at every level."

The news of the 2010 promotions arrives on the heels of an annual survey of the top 200 law firms by the National Association of Women Lawyers (NAWL), the results of which show WilmerHale outranking many of its competitors regarding the percentage of women attorneys in law firm leadership in 2009. According to the survey, WilmerHale's highest governing committee is made up of 21% women, compared to an average of only 15% at other top firms. In addition, WilmerHale's equity partners are made up of 23% women, compared to an average of 16% at other leading firms.

WilmerHale will also promote a significant percentage (17%) of diverse attorneys in 2010. *The National Law Journal* recently recognized WilmerHale as one of Washington DC's most diverse law firms. Of the large law firms in Washington, only five of them have partnerships composed of at least 10 % minorities, and WilmerHale is among that select group. *Multicultural Law* magazine included WilmerHale in its "Top 100 Law Firms for Diversity," "Top 100 Law Firms for Women," "Top 50 Law Firms for Partners," "Top 50 Law Firms for Associates," and "Top 25 Law Firms for African-Americans" lists. And this summer, the Minority Corporate Counsel Association honored the firm for its diversity initiatives with the Thomas L. Sager Award, an award that is given to law firms that demonstrate a sustained commitment to improving the hiring, retention and promotion of minority attorneys.

In 2009, WilmerHale was repeatedly recognized as a leading law firm for women. The firm was included in the following lists: Yale Law Women Top Family Friendly Firms, *Working Mother's* Best Law Firms for Women and the *American Lawyer's* Women in Law Firms study. Individual women recognized included, Charlene Barshefsky and Jamie Gorelick, "Top Female Corporate Directors" (*BusinessWeek*); Carol Clayton, "Most Powerful Women in Washington" (*Washingtonian*); Franca Harris Gutierrez, "Minority Rainmaker" (*Diversity & the Bar*); and Suyong Kim among the top 100 "Women in Antitrust" (*Global Competition Review*). WilmerHale is devoted to the recruitment, retention, and advancement of women and minority attorneys, and firm committees such as the Work-life Balance Committee, Diversity Committee and Women's Leadership Initiative are consistently working alongside firm leadership to help mentor and advance junior women and minority attorneys.

We are very pleased to congratulate our colleagues who became partners in the firm effective January 1, 2010:

Timothy J. Corbett Brian W. Monnich Elizabeth M. Reilly Hartmut Schneider Susan Schroeder Anne K. Small Nina S. Tallon Shirley Cassin Woodward Dino Wu

We are very pleased to announce the elevation of the following counsel to special counsel, effective January 1, 2010:

Gail C. Bernstein Jamie N. Class Nancy L. Manzer Cynthia T. Mazareas Dr. Anja Mengel, LLM Peter G. Neiman Brooke A. Pinkerton Carol Robinson Schepp Victor F. Souto Peter A. Spaeth Mary B. Strother Wendy Anderson Terry Cherie Weldon Dawn M. Wilson

We are very pleased to announce the elevation of the following senior associates to counsel, effective January 1, 2010:

Demian S. Ahn Noelle C. Berryman **Brent Bickley** Michelle Glassman Bock Heath A. Brooks Benjamin C. Brown David M. Burkoff Danielle Y. Conley Rebecca G. Deutsch Michael L. Feinberg Molly Flannery Dr. Oliver Fleischmann, LLM Mark A. Ford Jason S. Frank H. David Gold Erica A. Green Joel S. Green Claire R. Hanselmann Paul Hare David C. Heaton, Jr. Todd Hettenbach Michael D. Jay Kari A. Jorgenson Joshua C. Jungman Andrew D. King Jaime Klima Gregory H. Lantier Sarah A. Levendusky Samuel J. Maselli Patrick J. McLain Pedro Medrano

Jaclyn Moyer Benjamin Neaderland Allen C. Nunnally Cormac O'Daly Emily Penney O'Neill Sarah Pfuhl Nicole Rabner Gianna M. Ravenscroft Adam Raviv Ruediger Schuett Peter Shen Laura A. Sheridan Erin G.H. Sloane Stephen T. Smith Michael P. Spence Karen D. Stringer Kevin J. Sullivan, Jr. Robert J. Teply Georg Terhorst Louis W. Tompros Daniel S. Volchok Jeremy S. Winer Katherine Zucca

We are very pleased to announce the elevation of the following associates to senior associates, effective January 1, 2010:

Sadaf R. Abdullah Sandy Alexander Abimbola S. Bamgboye Andrej Barbic, PhD Sarah A. Beigbeder Kathryn A. Bennett Ayşe Kiraz Bulut Elizabeth K. Canizares Dimple Chaudhary Maryan M. Chirayath Judy Coleman Bryan S. Conley Meredith Cordisco Stephen John Cox John J. Demeter Jeremy Dresner

D. Alexander Ewing Dr. Michael Feit Nicole E. Feit Kate Fitzpatrick Brian H. Fletcher Molly W. Fox Shauna K. Friedman Kathryn M. Fugina Daniel L. Gardner Aron B. Goetzl Michelle A. Goldis Roberto Grasso **Daniel Greineder** Julia Grimes Jonathan Lloyd Hardt Adam J. Hornstine Alexander Israel Marc E. Johnson, PhD Heather C.P. Jordan Arian M. June Sara K. Kasper Joseph N. Khawam Matthew J. Kleiman Karen L. Koniuszy Matthew J. Leary Anna T. Lee Therese Lee Julia M. Lipez Brooke L. Manfredi Tina Marisam Meera Malhotra Marti Jeremy Masys Jasmine S. McGhee Robert J. McKeehan Anne M. McLaughlin Andrew H. Messinger Niki Z. Moore Christopher L. Morgan Jodie Morse Lucas R. Moskowitz Miklos Mudrony Caroline T. Nguyen Michelle Ognibene

Jeffries L. Oliver-Li Tabitha R. Oman Jacob Steven Oyloe Lisa A. Parrington Kristen Phinnessee Wyley Sayre Proctor Kevin S. Prussia **Catherine Marlantes Rahm** Shahzia M. Rahman Kirath Raj Gretchen Passe Roin Seth A. Rudin Ken Sakurabayashi Joshua M. Salzman Laura Schmoyer Stefanie Danielle Schneider Alan Schoenfeld Carrie H. Seares Philip Randolph Seybold Victoria S. Shabo June Shih Katherine Mullane Shiu Kelly S. Shoop Brian M. Simmonds David R. Smith Brian D. Staudt Bethany M. Stevens Jessica N. Stokes Brian A. Sutherland Bart M.J. Szewczyk Anna-Maria K. Tamminen Gabriel Taran Leigh C. Thompson Melissa J. Turitz Eleonora Wäktare Bill Ward, PhD Violetta Guberman Watson Dr. Olaf Weiß Lauren R. Yates Anne-Marie C. Yvon, PhD **David Zetlin-Jones** Andrew B. Zoltan