FinTech INDUSTRIES

The WilmerHale FinTech Group is a multi-disciplinary team of lawyers that leverages the expertise of our Corporate, Financial Institutions, Technology and Intellectual Property practices and others to offer integrated, full service legal solutions to clients within the FinTech sector and to a whole host of other clients who do business or invest in the FinTech sector. The group is uniquely positioned to represent FinTech clients throughout their lifecycles and to advise on a vast range of transactions and other legal matters.

We offer FinTech services to:

  • Mature and emerging FinTech companies
  • Companies engaged in FinTech transactions and/or making investments in FinTech-enabled services
  • Exchanges and online platforms
  • Investment banks
  • Venture capital, private equity, and hedge fund firms

We advise our clients on a wide range of FinTech-related matters and issues, including:

  • General corporate matters
  • M&A and joint venture transactions
  • FinTech-enabled services, including mobile applications and outsourcing
  • Capital markets and other financings, including venture capital investments
  • Regulatory and compliance matters
  • Data security and privacy
  • Vendor management
  • Intellectual property and patent litigation

To learn more about WilmerHale’s FinTech practice, email us at and follow us on Twitter @WilmerHaleTech. You can also read our FinTech blog.

The WilmerHale FinTech Group is a multi-disciplinary team of lawyers that leverages the expertise of our Corporate, Financial Institutions, Technology and Intellectual Property practices and others to offer integrated, full service legal solutions to clients within the FinTech sector and to a whole host of other clients who do business or invest in the FinTech sector. The group is uniquely positioned to represent FinTech clients throughout their lifecycles and to advise on a vast range of transactions and other legal matters.

We offer FinTech services to:

Read More

Corporate Contacts

Capital Markets

Lisa Firenze
+1 212 937 7263 (t)
lisa.firenze@wilmerhale.com

 

Justin Ochs
+1 202 663 6303 (t)
justin.ochs@wilmerhale.com

 

Erika Robinson
+1 202 663 6402 (t)
erika.robinson@wilmerhale.com

 

Knute Salhus
+1 212 230 8805 (t)
knute.salhus@wilmerhale.com

 

Emerging Company

Bob Schwed
+1 212 937 7276 (t)
robert.schwed@wilmerhale.com

 

Mergers and Acquisitions

Robert Finkel
+1 212 295 6555 (t)
robert.finkel@wilmerhale.com

 

Stephanie Evans
+1 202 663 6355 (t)
stephanie.evans@wilmerhale.com

 

Outsourcing and Licensing

Robert Finkel
+1 212 295 6555 (t)
robert.finkel@wilmerhale.com

 

Jeff Johnson
+1 617 526 6394 (t)
jeffrey.johnson@wilmerhale.com

 

Securities Law Compliance

Knute Salhus
+1 212 230 8805 (t)
knute.salhus@wilmerhale.com

Financial Institutions Contacts

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Russell J. Bruemmer
+1 202 663 6804 (t)
russell.bruemmer@wilmerhale.com

 

Franca Harris Gutierrez
+1 202 663 6557 (t)
franca.gutierrez@wilmerhale.com

 

Eric J. Mogilnicki
+1 202 663 6410 (t)
eric.mogilnicki@wilmerhale.com

 

Data Protection and Information Security

Jonathan Cedarbaum
+1 202 663 6315 (t)
jonathan.cedarbaum@wilmerhale.com

 

Barry Hurewitz
+1 202 663 6089 (t)
barry.hurewitz@wilmerhale.com

 

Heather Zachary
+1 202 663 6794 (t)
heather.zachary@wilmerhale.com

 

Export Controls and Economic Sanctions

Barry Hurewitz
+1 202 663 6089 (t)
barry.hurewitz@wilmerhale.com

 

Payment Transactions

Russell J. Bruemmer
+1 202 663 6804 (t)
russell.bruemmer@wilmerhale.com

 

Noah Levine
+1 212 230 8800 (t)
noah.levine@wilmerhale.com

 

Intellectual Property Contacts

IP Litigation

Dave Bassett
+1 212 230 8858 (t)
david.bassett@wilmerhale.com

 

Wayne Kennard
+1 617 526 6183 (t)
wayne.kennard@wilmerhale.com

 

Patent Prosecution

Tom Anderson
+1 202 663 6227 (t)
tom.anderson@wilmerhale.com


Don Steinberg
+1 617 526 6453 (t)
don.steinberg@wilmerhale.com


Vic Souto
+1 212 937 7224 (t)
victor.souto@wilmerhale.com

 

Labor and Employment Contacts

Employee Benefits and Immigration

Laura Schneider
+1 617 526 6846 (t)
laura.schneider@wilmerhale.com

 

Securities Contacts

Broker-Dealer Compliance and Regulation

Paul Architzel
+1 202 663 6240 (t)
paul.architzel@wilmerhale.com

 

Elizabeth Derbes
+1 212 295 6430 (t)
elizabeth.derbes@wilmerhale.com

 

Bruce Newman
+1 212 230 8835 (t)
bruce.newman@wilmerhale.com

 

Andre Owens
+1 202 663 6350 (t)
andre.owens@wilmerhale.com

 

Investment Management

Matt Chambers
+1 202 663 6591 (t)
matthew.chambers@wilmerhale.com

 

Dino Wu
+1 212 295 6436 (t)
dino.wu@wilmerhale.com

 

Tax Contacts

Corporate and Partnership Taxation

Bill Caporizzo
+1 617 526 6411 (t)
william.caporizzo@wilmerhale.com

 

Executive Compensation

Kim Wethly
+1 617 526 6481 (t)
kim.wethly@wilmerhale.com

 

Publications & News

View

October 9, 2014

SEC Enforcement Actions Emphasize Importance of Stock Ownership Reporting Obligations for Public Companies and Insiders

On September 10, 2014, the Securities and Exchange Commission announced charges against 28 officers, directors and major stockholders of public companies for violating Section 16(a) and/or Section 13(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended.

July 25, 2014

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau as a Privacy & Data Security Regulator

An article by Jonathan Cedarbaum and Elijah Alper, published in the May/June 2014 edition of the Fintech Law Report.

May 6, 2014

2014 Corporate Reports

WilmerHale’s annual IPO, Venture Capital and M&A Reports provide comprehensive statistics and analysis that are hard to find elsewhere.

December 6, 2013

House Passes Patent Litigation Bill

On December 5, 2013, the House of Representatives passed the Innovation Act (H.R. 3309) (the “Act”) by a vote of 325-91. The Act proposes several changes to the patent litigation system such as enhanced pleading requirements, fee shifting, discovery limits, patent ownership disclosures, and stays of customer suits.

November 20, 2013

On the Road to Legitimacy? Regulators Appear Ready to “Maximize the Good” of Virtual Currency

Supporters of Bitcoin and other virtual currencies will be heartened by the generally positive discussions that took place at two Senate committee hearings earlier this week, in which both regulators and senators signaled that forthcoming regulation should not aim to stifle this emerging technology.

November 1, 2013

WilmerHale Among U.S. News – Best Lawyers® “Best Law Firms” and Again Named International Arbitration “Law Firm of the Year”

The 2014 edition of the U.S. News – Best Lawyers® “Best Law Firms” list names WilmerHale as “Law Firm of the Year” in International Arbitration—this is the second consecutive year that the firm has won this honor—and honors WilmerHale as a first-tier law firm in 27 national and 60 metro-area rankings.

July 11, 2013

SEC Adopts JOBS Act and Dodd-Frank Act Private Placement Provisions; Proposes Additional Requirements for Private Placement Market

At an open meeting on July 10, 2013, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC): approved final rules implementing Section 201(a)(1) of the Jumpstart Our Business Startups Act (the JOBS Act) to eliminate the prohibition on general solicitation and advertising for certain offerings made pursuant to Rule 506 of Regulation D of the Securities Act of 1933 (the Securities Act) and Rule 144A under the Securities Act; approved a final rule to disqualify securities offerings involving certain felons and other “bad actors” from reliance on Rule 506, as mandated by Section 926 of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010 (the Dodd-Frank Act); and proposed amendments to Regulation D, Form D and Rule 156 under the Securities Act intended to enhance the SEC’s ability to evaluate changes in the market and to address the development of practices in Rule 506 offerings.

May 13, 2013

A Divided Federal Circuit Affirms CLS Bank, Finding No Patent-Eligible Subject Matter Under 35 U.S.C. § 101

April 23, 2013

Data Security Considerations for FinTech Companies

An article by Ian C. Wildgoose Brown, appearing in the Bloomberg Law Banking Report.

February 13, 2013

President Obama Issues Cybersecurity Executive Order